Officejet printers are notorious for giving out random errors at any giving time of usage. Some of these errors are Carriage Jam, Missing or failed Print head, the following cartridges are missing or damaged and my favorite Ink System Failure. Out of all of those the latter in the bunch is the one in most cases can be resolved, the others not so much.

Below is a video by me about an issue I have come across many times but in this instance I was able to test the theory as to if HP Officejet printers save their errors to the memory of the mainboard. One printer (the 7612) had a missing or failed printhead error and the next printer (the 7610) had a carriage jam error. The video is in two parts, in part one I show each printer with their respective boards and the errors they emit. Then in part two (Starts at 5:32) I swap the boards and put them on one at a time to individually show my findings.

As you can see in the video the errors moved from one machine and created the problem in the other. This leads me to the conclusion the error is being stored somewhere on the board and I have yet to figure out how to reset it. My only wish is that I had a board from a working printer so that it would be a more convincing conclusion.